Alma Mater
ISSN 1026-955X
Vestnik Vysshey Shkoly (Higher School Herald)
The best way to learn all about Higher Education

=

Impact of COVID-19 on the system of higher education

S.L. Talanov, F.Yu. Kushnarev, D.T. Berezin, E.S. Rumyantseva
80,00 Р

UDC 316+378

https://doi.org/10.20339/AM.10-20.012   

 

S.L. Talanov is Cand.Sci. (Sociology), Ass. prof. Senior Researcher at the Sector for Sociology of Deviant Behavior Federal Scientific research Sociological Center of the Russian Academy of Sciences (Moscow) e-mail: talanov_sergei@mail.ru; F.Yu. Kushnarev is Cand.Sci. (Politology), Ass. prof. at Yaroslavl State University e-mail: kushnarevcustoms@mail.ru   ; D.T. Berezin is Cand.Sci. (Engineering), Ass. prof. e-mail: dimitry_rus_rub@rambler.ru; and E.S. Rumyantseva is Cand.Sci. (Politology), Ass. prof. e-mail: elenaudit@gmail.com at Yaroslavl State Pedagogical University n.a. K.D. Ushinsky

 

Analyzed is the impact of restrictions on higher educational system introduced by the Government of the Russian Federation in connection with spread of coronavirus infection COVID-19. Sociological study (online survey) was conducted among students, enrolled in budgetary and extra-budgetary forms of education, as well as among graduates of secondary schools (11th classes), located in small, medium and large cities of Yaroslavl region. In addition, video interviews were conducted, using Zoom service among number of applicants, parents of applicants, teachers, positional experts. It was established, that emergence and spread of COVID-19 and limitations, associated with it, made certain adjustments to strategies of applicants and students. Despite all changes that have arisen due to coronavirus infection, only a small part of applicants and students studying on extrabudgetary basis, decided to change their plans. It is concluded, that for significant part of applicants, obtaining higher education is an attempt to continue to remain in a familiar comfortable environment (continuation of “childhood”). Despite constant stresses at school, expectation from prospect of losing a measured, familiar, predictable life is even more stressful. Parents from families, belonging to medium-resource and high-resource groups, as a rule, support decision of their children to keep on studying. In this case, decision to enter university is made long before graduation. Parents from low-resource groups, as a rule, try to give profession, not a higher education. At the same time, it was revealed, that children from families, belonging to low-resource groups, for the most part, anyway note that if they had necessary resources, they would try to get higher education. In addition, the authors conclude, that decision on admission to university is greatly influenced by not at all economic capital of family, how much family’s value, as well as influence of the reference person.

Key words: online survey, video interview, coronovirus infection, COVID-19, applicants, students, universities, reference person.

References

1. Bourdieu, P. Espacesocialetgenèsedes «classes». Actes de la rechercheens ciences sociales. 1984. No. 52–53. P. 3–14.

2. Inglehart, R. Culture Shift in Advanced Industrial Society. Princeton, 1990.

3. Jamal, F., Fletcher, A., Harden, A., Wells, H., Thomas, J., Bonell, C. The school environment and student health: a systematic review and meta-ethnography of qualitative research. BMC Public Health. 2013. Vol. 13. P. 798.

4. Tibbetts, Y., Priniski, S.J., Hecht, C.A., Borman, G.D., Harackiewicz J.M. Different Institutions and Different Values: Exploring First-Generation Student Fit at 2-Year Colleges. Frontiers in Psychology. 2018. Vol. 9. P. 502.

5. Talanov, S.L. Influence of reference person, social capital of family group on formation of educational and professional strategy of children. Alma mater (Vestnik vysshei shkoly). 2020. No. 4. P. 28–37.

Alma Mater
ISSN 1026-955X
Вестник высшей школы
Лучший способ узнать всё о высшем образовании
Языки

=

Влияние COVID-19 на систему высшего образования

С.Л. Таланов, Ф.Ю. Кушнарев, Д.Т. Березин, Е.С. Румянцева
80,00 Р

УДК 316+378

https://doi.org/10.20339/AM.10-20.012    

 

С.Л. Таланов,

канд. социол. наук, доц.

с. н. с. сектора социологии девиантного поведения

Федеральный научно-исследовательский социологический центр РАН (Москва)

e-mail: talanov_sergei@mail.ru

Ф.Ю. Кушнарев,

канд. полит. наук, доц.

e-mail: kushnarevcustoms@mail.ru   

Ярославский государственный университет

Д. Березин,

канд. техн. наук, доц.

e-mail: dimitry_rus_rub@rambler.ru

Е.С. Румянцева,

канд. полит. наук, доц.

e-mail: elenaudit@gmail.com

Ярославский государственный педагогический университет

 

Проанализировано влияние ограничений на систему высшего образования, введенных правительством РФ в связи с распространением коронавирусной инфекции COVID-19. Проведено социологическое исследование (онлайн-опрос) среди студентов, обучающихся на бюджетной и внебюджетной формах обучения, а также выпускников средних общеобразовательных школ (11-х классов) в малых, средних и больших городах Ярославской области. Кроме того, проведены видеоинтервью с помощью сервиса Zoom родителей абитуриентов, преподавателей и позиционных экспертов. Установлено, что появление и распространение коронавирусной инфекции COVID-19 и связанные с ней ограничения внесли определенные коррективы в стратегию абитуриентов и студентов. Однако, несмотря на все изменения, появившие в связи с возникновением коронавирусной инфекции, лишь незначительная часть абитуриентов и студентов, обучающихся на внебюджетной основе, решили изменить свои планы. Делается вывод о том, что для значительной части абитуриентов получение высшего образования — попытка оставаться в знакомой комфортной среде (продолжение «детства»). К тому же, невзирая на постоянные стрессы в школе, ожидание от перспективы потерять размеренную, знакомую, предсказуемую жизнь становится еще большим стрессом. Родители из семей, относящихся к среднересурсным и высокоресурсным семьям, как правило, поддерживают решение своих детей учиться. При этом решение о поступлении в вуз принимается задолго до окончания школы. Родители из слаборесурсных семей обычно стремятся дать профессию, а не высшее образование. Вместе с тем выявлено, что дети из семей, относящихся к слаборесурсным семьям, в большинстве случаев отмечают, что если бы обладали необходимыми ресурсами, то попытались получить высшее образование. В заключение авторы приходят к выводу, что на принятие решения о поступлении в вуз большое влияние оказывает вовсе не экономический капитал семьи, а существующие в семье ценности и влияние референтной личности.

Ключевые слова: онлайн-опрос, видеоинтервью, коронавирусная инфекция, COVID-19, абитуриенты, студенты, вузы, референтная личность.

Литература

1. Bourdieu, P. Espacesocialetgenèsedes «classes». Actes de la rechercheens ciences sociales. 1984. No. 52–53. P. 3–14.

2. Inglehart, R. Culture Shift in Advanced Industrial Society. Princeton, 1990.

3. Jamal, F., Fletcher, A., Harden, A., Wells, H., Thomas, J., Bonell, C. The school environment and student health: a systematic review and meta-ethnography of qualitative research. BMC Public Health. 2013. Vol. 13. P. 798.

4. Tibbetts, Y., Priniski, S.J., Hecht, C.A., Borman, G.D., Harackiewicz J.M. Different Institutions and Different Values: Exploring First-Generation Student Fit at 2-Year Colleges. Frontiers in Psychology. 2018. Vol. 9. P. 502.

5. Таланов С.Л. Влияние референтной личности, социального капитала семейной группы на формирование образовательной и профессиональной стратегии детей // Alma mater (Вестник высшей школы). 2020. № 4. С. 28–37.